FUELED by K. Bromberg BLEW. ME. AWAY!

FUELED

Driven Trilogy, Book 2
by K. Bromberg
378 pages
JKB Publishing; 1 edition (August 25, 2013)
Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
E-Book (Kindle)

What happens when the one person you never expected suddenly happens to be the one you’ll fight the hardest to keep?

Colton stole my heart. He wasn’t supposed to, and I sure as hell didn’t want him to, but he crashed into my life, ignited feelings within me that I thought had died forever, and fueled a passion that I never knew could exist.

Rylee fell out of that damn storage closet and into my life. Now I don’t think I’ll ever be the same. She’s seen glimpses of the darkness within me, and yet she’s still here. Still fighting for me. She is without a doubt the saint, and I am most definitely the sinner.

How is it the one thing neither of us wanted—neither of us anticipated that fateful night—has us fighting so hard to keep?

He steals my breath, stops my heart, and brings me back to life again all in a split second of time. But how can I love a man who won’t let me in? Who continually pushes me away to prevent me from seeing the damaged secrets in his past? My heart has fallen, but patience and forgiveness can only go so far.

How can I desire a woman who unnerves me, defies me, and forces me to see that in the deep, black abyss of my soul there’s someone worthy of her love? A place and person I swore I’d never be again. Her selfless heart and sexy body deserve so much more than I’ll ever be capable of giving her. I know I can’t be what she needs, so why can’t I just let her go?

We are driven by need and fueled with desire, but is that enough for us to crash into love? www.kbromberg.com

My Take

I first came across this author’s work via Bewitching Book Tours. I liked the book with reservations. The writing was certainly competent, but the first person point of view was still troublesome.  Yet, the author left it on such a cliff hanger that NOTHING would have kept me from the second in the trilogy.

So, I “borrowed” it via Amazon Prime. I read it in a day and let me tell you that KB stepped up her game and FUELED Blew. Me. Away.

Seriously, this book has it all:

Intrigue: Murderous fathers and traumatized kids. Nasty Moms and a history so very traumatic that love is a bad word with the meaning, “you are limited and cannot win.”

Character Growth: Colton is a total dick. I even mentioned this to KB in an interview for Driven;

 I realize Colton is screwed up, but does he have to be such a dick? He’s likely to give Rylee, and me, a little whiplash with his mood swings.
Agreed. He is quite a dick at some points, particularly the ending. I’ll just say that the beginning of Fueled (book #2) is the last chapter of Driven in Colton’s point of view. It will shed a lot of light on why he reacted how he did. Colton is all about extremes. I won’t make excuses for how he was but I will say that you will be able to understand him better and the reasons behind his actions in Fueled. fangswandsandfairydust “Baby You Can Drive My Car”

And Whiplash it is.  I noted in my reading that the entire relationship has  rhythmic qualities and one of those is whiplash. He likes her he likes her not: often in the space of a page. Well, he always likes her. The two are driven together by such chemistry that internal combustion engines should take notes to improve their performance. The problem is this horrific childhood and deeply held secrets. He doesn’t like himself very much and believes he isn’t worthy of love but that no one actually could love him.

All this rhythm and chemistry leads to explosive encounters. Off the charts hot.  But it also leads back to that all important:

Character Growth: Both characters have to grow; Colton a little more than Rylee whose growth comes more in the form of seeing Colton through his desperately traumatic childhood and accepting her own responsibilities in the relationship. That lesson that you cannot change anyone but yourself is one often learned in our early twenties and thirties (if it ever is).

The breakthrough, well the crack in Colton’s barrier and in Rylee’s understanding of the issues, came in the form of one child’s problems.  In my notes I wrote this particular bit of writing was a beautiful description of a terrible event.It is through these kids that Colton and Rylee can find a common thread of understanding.

Colton and Rylee together are like the engine on my Supercharged Range Rover, and hotter than Ferrari Red. The relationship between Colton and Rylee is not always tender, sometimes heartbreaking, but always passionate and with the knowledge of what it could be roiling under the surface.,

I could not put this one down and while writing this book Bromberg really must have hit that artistic space called “the zone.”  I really loved this book; thought it was outstanding. For readers of Contemporary Erotic Romance  it is a MUST READ.

Available at Amazon


Fueled (The Driven Trilogy 2)

Tweet