Silver Skin Casts a Fae Spell

by D. L. McDermott
Series: Cold Iron #2
Published by Pocket Books, Pocket Star, Simon & Schuster Genres: Erotic, Paranormal, Romance, Steamy
Source: Net Galley, Publisher

SILVER SKIN

 

SILVER SKIN coverA Cold Iron Novel #2
by D. L. McDermott
Pocket Star/A Simon and Schuster Imprint
e-book 400 pages | ISBN 9781476734408 |
April 2014

Galley provided by publisher for review. No Remuneration was exchanged and all opinions presented herein are my own unless otherwise noted.

For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, the second in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced and sexy paranormal romance series—a full-length novel available exclusively in ebook!

Helene Whitney has been losing time. Not losing track of time—but finding whole blank spaces, hours, in her day she can’t account for. A year ago she would have written it off as overwork and exhaustion, but that was before she found out about the Good Neighbors, the Fair Folk, the Beautiful People, the Fae.

Ancient, immortal, tricksy, and cruel, these creatures out of myth and legend rule the Irish enclaves of South Boston and Charlestown, and one of them has been using magic to abduct and control Helene for hours every day. That’s because the collection at her museum contains ancient objects of Fae power, and the Fae want access to this magic for their own ends. Now, Helene’s only hope of escaping this unknown assailant lies with the Fae sorcerer Miach MacCecht, a man she knows she can never trust—and who may prove impossible to resist. Simon and Schuster

 

square "my take"I didn’t know whether I would like this book at first.  The main female character, Helene,  at first, felt a bit dumb because even with past experiences with the fae, she takes her time coming to the conclusion that she has a fae problem.  But, like Helene, found myself falling under a spell just like those cast by the powerful fae sorcerer Miach, the main male character in the book. And, her seeming stupidity is a by-product of the fae nastiness.

As someone who was involved in Fund Raising and Development, and museum work I was immediately drawn to the setting and character of Helene.  Plus, it takes place in Boston, which is fairly nearby.

The sexual attraction that always lurks about the fae (sometimes I think they are really emotional vampires because of the way they feed off human emotions) is thick and honeyed in this book.  As much as she tries to resist the sorcerer she turns to for help the attraction is too strong.

And the two characters are very hot together.  Helene is frightened and in serious danger of dying about every five minutes, but, she is also very resourceful. Her transformation from development director to kick-ass heroine is assisted by having grown up with brothers. She is not bold at first, but she’s no shrinking violet.  Miach is oddly well-intentioned for a fae, but is also, at 3,500 years of age, more than aware of his own nature. He can’t really promise Helene more than a temporary relationship even though he is somewhat obsessed with her.

The action is non-stop and all the characters are imperiled. The writing is a little more telling than showing.  Expository writing is more acceptable these days.  And the relationship goes from don’t! to don’t stop! pretty quickly.

The good fairies of sanitized, childhood stories do not make an appearance here. Instead we find complicated, violent, selfish, tricksy, hedonistic, and nearly amoral immortals.  You would not come out of any transaction ahead of them, and you do not want to run across one in an alley.

While there were a lot of references to the first book in the series, which I did not read, I did not feel that I had lost too much backstory and felt competent in traveling the landscape of this book. It is probably the information about the first book that makes it feel expository.

I enjoyed the book’s gritty sensuality and think it is a great read. I hope to read more in the series.

Relevant LinksPublisher Author’s Website At Amazon At B&N