It’s Worth Listening when THE WHOLE TOWN’S TALKING

The Whole Town’s Talking

The Whole Town's TalkingA Novel
By Fannie Flagg
Read by Kimberly Farr
Category: Women’s Fiction | Audiobooks
Nov 29, 2016 | 728 Minutes
Audiobook Download | $22.50
Published by Random House Audio
Nov 29, 2016 | 728 Minutes | ISBN 9780739354049

I voluntarily reviewed an advance readers copy of this book. No remuneration was exchanged and all opinions presented herein are my own except as noted.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.
http://www.penguinrandomhouseaudio.com/book/50184/the-whole-towns-talking/

 

My Take Oblong Shaped

 

This is a wonderful story — about a community I think we would all have loved to grow up in. It is funny, sweet, sad, and even occasionally tragic —  I cried more than one tear listening.  There’s nothing sexy, nothing risque; but there is plenty of surprise, and even celebrity visits.

To be sure, there is a bit of existential uncertainty in the story, but no overt religion. Trust me, I was on the lookout for religious sentiment to slip in.

There are a lot of themes, one is innocence and the loss of it. Another is how we can be accepting of other people, despite their backgrounds or abilities, if we all behave decently with each other.

The story is beautifully read, I especially loved Lordor’s voicing and Katrina’s.  I adored, the neighbor,  Elner and wanted her to come over and cheer me up. Elner, in particular, is the funny neighbor, the loving aunt, the best-hearted, the humble and a sweet woman who knows what you need and offers it without expectation of recompense, character I love. I think THE WHOLE TOWN’S TALKING has a IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE vibe; filled with characters you’ll love. 

This is the perfect book for a trip, for a gift (especially Mothers Day!). 

I really enjoyed this one — It’s THE  “feel-good” novel this spring.

Links Blue Horizontal
PUBLISHER: http://www.penguinrandomhouseaudio.com/book/50184/the-whole-towns-talking/

AUDIBLE: http://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/The-Whole-Towns-Talking-Audiobook/B01K5UDHMC/

AMAZON: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0739354035?tag=randohouseinc8634-20

AUTHOR: http://fannieflaggbooks.com/