THE YOUNG WIVES CLUB: When All Your Dreams Go Up In Smoke

1

The Young Wives Club

THE YOUNG WIVES CLUB COVERA Novel
By Julie Pennell
Read by: Rebekkah Ross
Length: 9 hrs and 52 mins
Unabridged Audiobook
Release Date:02-14-17
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
ISBN 9781508231646
Also available in Print and Ebook

I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book. No remuneration was exchanged and all opinions presented herein are my own except as noted.

 

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives.

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart. http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Young-Wives-Club/Julie-Pennell/9781508231646

 

My Take Oblong Shaped

 

This book explores the fantasy, or is it mythology, of the relationship between girlfriends.  As the lives of each of these women goes awry what pulls them up and together, who holds their hair back when they vomit, who has their back when their guy turns out to be a sleazeball?

We all grow up thinking we’ll have friends like that and it is likely that on the outermost edge of the friendship bell curve they exist, but the reality is that life gets in the way and the friends we had get scattered. Unless, of course, you all continue living where you grew up. 

The book has some religious overtones with the preacher’s wife being central to the story. That her religious fervor also keeps her naive about her husband, may ameliorate the influence.  But the story is more or less clean, with just a  few fumblings and, I think, four instances of the word “shit.”

The coincidence of all the girls having relationships at the same time that are really problematic takes away from the story’s believability.  The author does underplay the “southern charm” aspect of the story thank goodness.

The story is not light, it is about growing through failure and also, a cautionary tale about marrying too young or for the wrong reason. There is some real sadness. There are also themes about selflessness, self-serving, loyalty and staying in school. There is one character who smokes and drinks a lot and who, as her father has cancer, doesn’t even seem to try to stop smoking.

The narrator does a great job with the story she’s given and I enjoyed listening to her voice.  
I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy this one but if I had to have a book for a flight or other kind of trip, or I was making a transition from YA to adult, and preferred non-explicit stories, then this would be a good choice.

Links Blue Horizontal

PUBLISHER: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Young-Wives-Club/Julie-Pennell/9781508231646

AUDIBLE: http://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/The-Young-Wives-Club-Audiobook/B01N27TUVX?source_code=SASP0002WS030910

AUTHOR: http://juliepennell.blogspot.com/p/the-young-wives-club.html

AMAZON: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HMXRYJM