LOVE ON LEXINGTON AVENUE, After Betrayal: Love and a Dog

2

Love on Lexington Avenue

 

Part of The Central Park Pact
By Lauren Layne
Read by Tim Paige and Virginia Rose
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (September 17, 2019)
Runtime: 7 hours and 28 minutes
ISBN13: 9781508296324

 

“Fans of The Devil Wears Prada will flip over Love on Lexington Avenue.” —Karen Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne comes the second delightfully charming installment in the Central Park Pact series, following a young widow whose newfound cynicism about love is challenged by a sexy, rough-around-the-edges contractor.

There are no good men left in New York City. At least that’s Claire Hayes’s conviction after finding out her late husband was not the man she thought he was. Determined to rid her home of anything that reminds her of her cheating husband, Claire sets out to redesign her boring, beige Upper East Side brownstone and make it something all her own. But what starts out as a simple renovation becomes a lot more complicated when she meets her bad-tempered contractor Scott Turner.

Scott bluntly makes it known to Claire that he only took on her house for a change of pace from the corporate offices and swanky hotels he’s been building lately, and he doesn’t hesitate to add that he has no patience for a pampered, damaged princess with a penchant for pink. But when long workdays turn into even longer nights, their mutual wariness morphs into something more complicated—a grudging respect, and maybe even attraction…

Filled with laugh-out-loud scenes that blend perfectly with the touching friendships Layne brings to life on the page, this “hugely entertaining” (USA TODAY) novel is perfect for fans of Lauren Weisberger. https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Love-on-Lexington-Avenue/Lauren-Layne/The-Central-Park-Pact/9781508296324

 

My Take Oblong Shaped

I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader’s copy of this book. No remuneration was exchanged and all opinions presented herein are my own except as noted.

It’s funny that I am in Manhattan as I write this post about Lauren Layne’s Love on Lexington Avenue; I was just on that street today!  I liked some aspects of this story. For example,  Claire is a widow whose husband had inherited the well-located house and they had apparently been living above their means.  So the place was a messily unrehabilitated brownstone that had had no work done on it since 1974.  Instead, Claire’s husband was stringing along two paramours with expensive, matching gifts.  I like the idea of redoing the run-down house.

Claire would like male companionship, but doesn’t want to be tied down.  Scott is a no-strings kind of guy and since they have good friends in common, he flat out tells Claire they can’t scratch each other’s itch.  Despite this, and her strange color preferences, they become wildly attracted to each other. 

Scott travels constantly and for some reason adopted a dog, a move he admits was selfish.  So when he works on her house he brings Bob with him and of course, Claire ends up loving “Bob.”

A pet is a really good way to bring people together. 

Finally a writer who beats the “My Love Will Change Him/Her” trope!  Claire doesn’t expect Scott to change because of her love. But she does want to take care of the dog when he goes off.  She moves on with her life, and is actually fine, though a little wistful about what could have been.  And her remodel is a fine reminder of their relationship.

What I didn’t like was that he adopted a dog although he was away more often than not. Ugh! It was a useful device for him to have a pet, but, seriously! I felt the story was fairly predictable in that they were going to get together.

The narrators are fine, with voices that didn’t annoy me, and good pronunciation.

This is a nice, light book.  I didn’t feel it was much like The Devil Wore Prada so, I don’t know that it would appeal to its fans; I thought it would be more for Bridget Jone’s Diary fans. I did enjoy the continuation of this NYC-based series.

Links Blue Horizontal

PUBLISHER: https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Love-on-Lexington-Avenue/Lauren-Layne/The-Central-Park-Pact/9781508296324

AUTHOR: https://laurenlayne.com/

AUDIBLE: https://www.audible.com/pd/Love-on-Lexington-Avenue-Audiobook/1508296324?asin=1508296324&source_code=SASP0002WS030910

AUDIOBOOKS.COM: https://www.audiobooks.com/audiobook/9781508296324